Q: Where is the first place I go when I am at Motor City Auto Auction?
A: If you have not registered online for your free bidders badge, you must first register in the main lobby at Windows #1, 2 or 3.
 
Q: What type of identification is required?
A: You need to have a valid driver’s licenses or Michigan I.D. to purchase or sell a vehicle.
 
Q: Is proof of insurance required?

A: Proof of insurance is required.

 
Q: What are the buyer fees

 

Buyer Auction Fees
The buyer will be charged an auction fee according to the chart below:
Selling price Range   Fee's Assessed
  $ 1 to $99 ...... $80
  $100 to $299 ..... $115
  $300 to $699 ..... $125
  $700 to $999 ..... $155
  $1,000 to $1,499 ..... $195
  $1500 to $1,999 ..... $225
  $2,000 to$2,999 ..... $245
  $3,000 to $3,999 ..... $260
  $4,000 to $4,999 ..... $285
  $5,000 to $6,999 ..... $295
  $7,000 to $7,999 ..... $325
  $8,000 to $9,999 ..... $365
  $10,000 or Above ..... $425
 
Q: How would I total all my fees and purchases?

 

Example of fees applied to a purchase
  Purchased bid and price ...... $2,800.00
  Administration Fee   ..... $95.00
  6% Michigan Tax ..... $173.70
  New title fee ..... $15.00
  Plate Transfer Fee ..... $8.00
  Auction Fee ..... $245.00
  Total ..... $3,336.70
  Less Deposit .....   $300.00
  Balance     $3,036.70
 
Q: What is the age requirement to buy or sell a vehicle?
A: You must be 18 years of age or older.  No one under 16 years of age is allowed in the auction area.
 
Q: If I win a bid at Saturday’s auction when must the purchase of the vehicle be completed?

A: The transaction must be completed by Monday at 7:00 pm.

 

Q: If I buy a vehicle on a day other than an auction day when must the transaction be completed?

A: If you buy a vehicle on a day other than an auction day you have until the next business day to complete the transaction.
 
Q: What is the deadline for registering a car?
A: The deadline for all registers is 5:00 pm Friday minimum sell price must b e given at this time.
 
Q:  What are the vehicle requirements for sell a vehicle?
A: The vehicle must be able to be driven through the auction and the transmission must be working properly. If you fail to disclose a bad transmission you will be subject to a $200.00 fine.  
 
Q: What is the fee structure for selling a vehicle?

 

   Selling price Range   Fee's Assessed
  $100.00 and under ..... $90.00
  $101.00 to 499.99 ..... $110.00
  $500.00 to 999.99  ..... $145.00
  $1,000.00 to 1,999.99 ..... $195.00
  $2,000 to$2,999 ..... $235.00
  $3,000.00 to 5,999.99    ..... $255.00
  $6,000.00 to 9,999.99 ..... $325.00
  $10,000.00 and Above ..... $495.00

 

Q: What is the charge if my vehicle does not sell?
A: A $60.00 No-Sale fee will be charged per auction run.
 
Q: What is the latest day my vehicle must be picked up by if it does not sell?
A: If the vehicle is not sold you must pick up your vehicle no later than 4:30 pm on Tuesday.